Back to Top

NEWS ABOUT DAVID HORN - DECATUR CITY COUNCIL

David Horn is honored to serve as a member of the Decatur City Council.  Below is information about recent and upcoming city council meetings, as well as the latest news about David's work on the council.

 

Tuesday, June 2, 2020 1:49 PM

Neighborhood revitalization in Decatur - At-risk property registration is key first step


Tuesday, June 2, 2020 1:45 PM

COVID-19 and racial inequities necessitate a new path forward for the Decatur City Council

 


Saturday, May 30, 2020 4:04 PM

Decatur unemployment rate increases to 17.7%


Monday, May 25, 2020 4:47 PM

Reopening Decatur to be discussed at next city council meeting


Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:02 AM

Decatur ordinance requiring registration of foreclosed and vacant properties tabled


Sunday, May 17, 2020 11:24 AM

Reopening in defiance of safety guidelines is reckless and endangers the health of our citizens

 


Tuesday, May 12, 2020 7:54 AM

Decatur City Council discusses impact of COVID-19 pandemic on city finances and possible adjustments to 2020 budget


Sunday, May 10, 2020 3:58 PM

Impact of COVID-19 pandemic on city finances to be discussed by Decatur City Council on Monday, May 11


Saturday, May 9, 2020 7:19 PM

Economic and social impacts of COVID-19 to the city and its citizens are substantial and likely to be long lasting


Tuesday, May 5, 2020 7:09 PM

Councilman David Horn expresses concerns about proposed $250 fine for not wearing facial covering in Decatur


Friday, May 1, 2020 6:09 PM

City temporarily removes agenda item requiring face coverings including $250 fine for violations


Friday, May 1, 2020 12:38 PM

City ordinance requiring face coverings including $250 fine for violations to be discussed at next Decatur City Council meeting on Monday, May 4


Thursday, April 23, 2020 7:38 PM

Number of employed individuals in Decatur decreases 5% from February-March 2020


Tuesday, April 21, 2020 8:15 AM

Decatur City Council and Macon County Board should collaborate in the face of economic challenges associated with COVID-19 pandemic


Sunday, April 19, 2020 6:42 PM

Initial impacts of COVID-19 pandemic to Decatur economy to be discussed at next Decatur City Council meeting on April 20 at 5:30 PM


Thursday, April 9, 2020 4:34 PM

How can the city of Decatur further assist its citizens during the COVID-19 pandemic? - Resources for Decatur citizens

 


Thursday, April 9, 2020 12:37 PM

City of Decatur extends public health emergency declaration


Friday, April 3, 2020 9:20 AM

Continuance of public health emergency, financial relief measures, and neighborhood revitalization grant to be discussed at April 6 council meeting


Sunday, March 22, 2020 1:45 PM

COVID-19 resources for Decatur citizens


Tuesday, March 17, 2020 3:52 PM

Councilman David Horn argues for reevaluation of city's 2020 spending priorities in light of COVID-19 pandemic


Sunday, March 15, 2020 3:03 PM

New policies associated with demolition, annexation, and disposition of surplus lots to be discussed at the next Decatur City Council meeting


Sunday, March 8, 2020 11:02 AM

Vote yes for a cannabis dispensary in Decatur


Thursday, March 5, 2020 10:33 AM

Additional dialogue on the fate of the Staley Pump House is encouraged


Thursday, March 5, 2020 10:24 AM

Increased revenue and job creation are top reasons for cannabis dispensary and related businesses in Decatur


Sunday, March 1, 2020 9:10 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn encourages dialogue regarding the Staley Pump House


Thursday, February 27, 2020 3:40 PM

No Decatur City Council meeting on Monday, March 2 at 5:30 PM


Thursday, February 27, 2020 9:30 AM

Dispelling misconceptions regarding a cannabis dispensary in Decatur


Sunday, February 23, 2020 1:05 PM

Lake Decatur water quality, street improvements, and water main replacement among 24 agenda items to be discussed at the next city council meeting


Saturday, February 22, 2020 1:47 PM

Quality of life for medical cannabis users and adult cannabis users will increase with a dispensary in Decatur


Sunday, February 9, 2020 2:33 PM

Should Decatur have a new TIF District? - Neighborhood revitalization to be discussed at city council meeting on February 10 at 5:30 PM


Sunday, February 9, 2020 10:45 AM

Restricting the ability for public comment at council meetings was shortsighted


Tuesday, February 4, 2020 6:49 AM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn voted against substantial restrictions in appearence of citizens at meetings


Saturday, February 1, 2020 1:54 PM

The city of Decatur is proposing to significantly limit public participation at meetings at a time when citizen-driven decisions are most needed



Thursday, January 30, 2020 8:26 PM

Decatur City Council to vote on whether public comments should be significantly restricted at open meetings



Sunday, January 26, 2020 9:24 AM

Decatur City Council members have received personal attacks from the media and public for years - A more open and transparent city government may be the solution to reducing them



Wednesday, January 22, 2020 8:03 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn commends city staff for highest level of demolitions of dilapidated properties since 2009


Sunday, January 19, 2020 4:00 PM

Cash reserves increase $3.1 million in 2019 and city removes most dilapidated houses since 2009 among topics of Decatur City Council meeting on Tuesday, January 21 at 5:30 PM


Saturday, January 18, 2020 8:27 AM

Fate of the Staley Pump House and the role of the Decatur City Council



Friday, January 10, 2020 7:33 AM

Resolutions for the new year: Neighborhood revitalization, reduced crime, increased revenue through new businesses, and citizen-driven initiatives will make Decatur a better place in 2020


Friday, January 10, 2020 7:30 AM

City Councilman David Horn supports sunset provisions as a means to reconsider decisions to prohibit cannabis-related businesses


Friday, January 10, 2020 7:26 AM

City Council member David Horn discusses how cannabis cultivation centers can bring revenue to area


Tuesday, January 7, 2020 8:25 AM

Councilman David Horn discusses increases in fees for building permits and resulting increase in quality of city services


Sunday, December 29, 2019 1:41 PM

Short Decatur City Council meeting on Monday, December 30 at 8:30 AM


Sunday, December 29, 2019 1:22 PM

Racial disparities in Decatur and the possible impact of city council decisions regarding cannabis


Friday, December 20, 2019 1:47 PM

David Horn voted no on the 2020 budget


Thursday, December 19, 2019 1:50 PM

David Horn voted yes on the DUI Enforcement Officer


Thursday, December 19, 2019 1:00 PM

Annexing properties into the city of Decatur - Why the city is annexing properties and the concerns our newest citizens are expressing


Wednesday, December 18, 2019 3:36 PM

David Horn expresses concerns about fewer police officers and limited new resources for neighborhood revitalization in 2020 budget


Wednesday, December 18, 2019 3:32 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn expresses support for DUI enforcement officer


Thursday, December 12, 2019 8:50 PM

Councilman David Horn encourages dialogue regarding Staley Pump House and the possibilities for restoration


Sunday, December 8, 2019 9:25 AM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn discusses annexation and the importance of providing services to city's newest citizens


Tuesday, December 3, 2019 7:00 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn discusses benefits of body cameras to both citizens and police


Tuesday, December 3, 2019 6:56 PM

Councilman David Horn discusses property tax levy and goal of keeping tax rate same for next year


Saturday, November 30, 2019 1:34 PM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn continues to express his concerns about decreasing number of police officers while calls for service increase


Tuesday, November 19, 2019 6:58 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn highly supportive of consultant to assist with bringing more retail opportunities to city


Sunday, November 10, 2019 10:20 AM

Theatrical or citizen-driven democracy? - Why discussions about further reducing nitrates in Decatur drinking water should be citizen-driven


Sunday, November 10, 2019 10:17 AM

Councilman David Horn advocates for greater public input into city initiatives outlined in 2020 budget


Sunday, November 10, 2019 10:14 AM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn expresses reservations about the reduction in number of police officers proposed in 2020 budget


Sunday, October 27, 2019 10:34 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn encourages citizens to attend town hall meeting on adult-use cannabis dispensary in city


Sunday, October 27, 2019 10:33 AM

Councilman David Horn supportive of demolition of dilapidated houses and urges greater expediency in neighborhood revitalization initiatives


Monday, October 14, 2019 7:23 PM

Decatur police officer numbers are decreasing: Is there a better pathway for public safety?

As part of the 2019 budget, the Decatur City Council approved funding for 153 police officers including the ability to over hire throughout the year in order to maintain those 153 officers. Contrary to city council policy, there are currently 144 officers, 6% less than budgeted, even though the city is predicting an approximate $2 million surplus in its general fund for 2019.


Saturday, October 12, 2019 7:46 PM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn expresses concern about the number of police officers being fewer than budgeted


Wednesday, October 9, 2019 7:19 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn discusses importance of including local business in planning of library parking lot


Tuesday, October 8, 2019 6:43 AM

Councilman David Horn calls for reduction in Decatur's utility tax


Sunday, October 6, 2019 7:38 AM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn expresses continued support for referendum on adult-use cannabis businesses


Friday, October 4, 2019 6:22 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn continues to express support for public referendum on adult-use cannabis dispensary


Wednesday, October 2, 2019 6:51 PM

Councilman David Horn supportive of public referendum on adult-use cannabis businesses in Decatur


Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:39 PM

David Horn only member of Decatur City Council to support adult-use cannabis dispensary


Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:36 PM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn argues that Decatur is most appropriate place in Macon County for cannabis dispensary


Tuesday, October 1, 2019 7:30 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn argues that adult-use cannabis dispensary can bring revenue to city


Sunday, September 29, 2019 8:52 AM

Councilman David Horn discusses reasons why the city should not opt-out of cannabis-related businesses in Decatur


Sunday, September 29, 2019 8:49 AM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn discusses key questions for deciding whether to allow cannabis-related businesses in the city


Tuesday, September 24, 2019 7:30 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn is opposed to limiting public comment at meetings


Tuesday, September 24, 2019 5:36 AM

Councilman David Horn expresses concerns about proposed policy limiting public comments during council meetings


Sunday, September 22, 2019 6:27 PM

Decatur City Council to discuss 5-year capital plans and changes to council policies on September 23


Saturday, September 21, 2019 2:18 PM

Cannabis-related businesses in Decatur: Ten reasons the city council should not opt-out


Tuesday, September 17, 2019 3:47 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn asks questions regarding fewer number of police officers


Sunday, September 15, 2019 3:37 PM

Neighborhood revitalization initiatives to be discussed at the city council meeting on September 16


Thursday, September 12, 2019 8:18 PM

Decatur City Councilman David Horn discusses new parking lot for Decatur Public Library


Sunday, September 8, 2019 1:22 PM

Adult-use cannabis will be discussed at a special meeting of the city council on September 30


Tuesday, September 3, 2019 8:37 PM

Councilman David Horn advocates for faster pace to demolitions and transformative plan for neighborhood revitalization


Monday, September 2, 2019 10:59 AM

David Horn summarizes agenda of next Decatur City Council meeting on September 3 at 5:30 PM


Tuesday, August 20, 2019 12:46 PM

David Horn addresses citizen concerns about the design of the new parking lot for the Decatur Public Library


Sunday, August 18, 2019 8:44 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn calls for faster pace to removal of delipidated properties


Saturday, August 17, 2019 3:48 PM

David Horn provides an overview of Decatur's annual financial report and 10-year trends of city's financial health



Saturday, August 17, 2019 2:30 PM

David Horn summarizes agenda of next Decatur City Council meeting on August 19 at 5:30 PM


Thursday, August 15, 2019 3:50 PM

City council member David Horn discusses the new library parking lot including addition of three greenspaces


Wednesday, August 7, 2019 6:44 AM

Councilman David Horn discusses pension costs and neighborhood revitalization at study session


Wednesday, July 17, 2019 8:31 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn sees positive impact to green spaces surrounding library


Tuesday, July 16, 2019 11:10 AM

Councilman David Horn addresses violent crime taking place in Decatur


Tuesday, July 16, 2019 11:04 AM

Councilman David Horn is supportive of allowing prairie gardens and pollinator plots in Decatur


Saturday, July 13, 2019 9:26 AM

City council member David Horn calls for revisions to city codes that allow for greater environmental sustainability


Friday, July 12, 2019 11:52 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn discusses poverty in the city


Friday, July 12, 2019 11:50 AM

Councilman David Horn supportive of reviewing rules for food trucks


Thursday, June 27, 2019 1:39 PM

City council member David Horn addresses panhandling in the city of Decatur


Thursday, June 20, 2019 9:45 AM

Decatur City Council member David Horn calls for the removal of blighted properties


Tuesday, June 18, 2019 6:37 AM

Councilman David Horn supportive of Lake Decatur watershed management plan


Sunday, May 19, 2019 9:08 AM

David Horn proud to play role in returning American flags to downtown Decatur


Thursday, May 16, 2019 1:06 PM

City council member David Horn calls for bold and aspirational neighborhood revitalization plan for Decatur


Sunday, May 12, 2019 1:14 PM

Decatur City Council member David Horn is strongly opposed to video gambling


Horn for Decatur
Powered by CampaignPartner.com - Political Websites
Close Menu